Eat poo for love

Day 48: Shanti ate: her puppies poo and pee, boiled chicken, dog granules, chicken flavoured dog treat; Camilla ate: a bowl of crunchy oats with milk and 1 banana; pickled gherkins and cabbage leaves, half a beer; baba ganoush, 2 and half falafels, pink pickles; some grilled chicken and lamb, flat bread; 1 apple and almond tart.

I ate a lot more than Shanti. But Shanti is much more bad ass than me: she has eaten her puppies’ poo and pee so to protect them from infections. This is what my friend who lives in Scotland said when she sent me this picture of her dog and her bag. Look how super cute she is. Shanti’s poo was not the best poo today, my friend said. It was quite liquid. And that’s probably because eating shit is not the best diet (although I remember my dog in Italy loving it, especially cats’ poo). But Shanti did that to protect her babies – apparently it’s also an instinct developed in times when dogs were out in the wild and needed to hide the scent of the puppies from predators. Shanti ate poo for love, as my friend noted. I don’t know if I could do that. But I don’t have babies. If any of you reading have babies, would you eat your baby’s poo if you had to?

How far would you go for someone you love?